How many Yankees players are in the Hall of Fame?

The baseball world dedicates the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, June 12, 1939.

Table of Contents

The Yankees have 61 of them inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. The list included their players, managers, and executives. There are 45 players, nine as managers, and seven as executives. Twenty-four of those were Yankees when chosen.

The New York Yankees have more history than any other baseball team. Since 1903, when the team was first formed, it has won 40 AL Pennants, 20 Division Titles, and 27 World Series Championships. Because of this, there have been a lot of skilled bats, arms, and gloves that have helped the Yankees do well. Today, we will look at some of the Bronx Bombers players who made history and were inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

In 1936, Cooperstown, New York, became the home of the Baseball Hall of Fame. It was made to honor and remember the great baseball players of the past, present, and future.

Ty Cobb, Christie Mathewson, Walter Johnson, Honus Wagner, and Babe Ruth were all in the first class of entry to the Hall of Fame. Babe Ruth was the only member of the first class who had ever played for the New York Yankees. He retired a year prior to his induction. Babe Ruth became the first Yankees player to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The Great Bambino would not, however, be the last. Over the next few decades, many players and broadcast journalists who had made important contributions to baseball were inducted into the Hall of Fame. Joe DiMaggio, Lou Gehrig, and Mickey Mantle were also introduced as Yankees when they got inducted.

In 2019, Mariano Rivera was inducted into the Cooperstown Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility. He was the first and, so far, the only player to be chosen unanimously by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA), and is known not only to be the best closer for the Yankees hall of famers, but all of baseball history, successfully completing 652 saves over two decades.

Derek Jeter was the last player from the New York Yankees to get into the Hall of Fame. Jeter played shortstop for the Yankees from 1995 to 2014, and he may have been the best shortstop in Yankees team history. He got 99.75% of the votes and was inducted in 2021.

Yankees players in the Hall of Fame

PlayerYears with Yankees
Frank Baker1916-1919, 1921-1922
Wade Boggs1993-1997
Yogi Berra1946-1963
Frank Chance1913-1914
Jack Chesbro1903-1909
Earle Combs1924-1935
Stan Coveleski1928
Bill Dickey1928-1943, 1946
Joe DiMaggio1936-1942, 1946-1951
Leo Durocher1925, 1928-1929
Whitey Ford1950, 1953-1967
Lou Gehrig1923-1939
Lefty Gomez1930-1942
Joe Gordon1938-1943, 1946
Goose Gossage1978-1983, 1989
Clark Griffith1903-1907
Burleigh Grimes1934
Waite Hoyt1921-1930
Jim “Catfish” Hunter1975-1979
Reggie Jackson1977-1981
Derek Jeter1995-2014
Jim Kaat1979-1980
Willie Keeler1903-1909
Tony Lazzeri1926-1937
Mickey Mantle1951-1968
Bill McKechnie1913
Johnny Mize1949-1953
Mike Mussina2001-2008
Phil Niekro1984-1985
Herb Pennock1923-1933
Gaylord Perry1980
Mariano Rivera1995-2013
Phil Rizzuto1941-1942, 1946-1956
Red Ruffing1930-1942, 1945-1946
Babe Ruth1920-1934
Joe Sewell1931-1933
Enos Slaughter1954-1959
Dazzy Vance1915, 1918
Paul Waner1944-1945
Dave Winfield1981-88, 1990

Yankees’ managers in the Hall of Fame

ManagersYears with Yankees
Yogi Berra1964, 1984-1985
Frank Chance1913-1914
Bill Dickey1957
Clark Griffith1903-1908
Bucky Harris1947-1948
Miller Huggins1918-1929
Bob Lemon1978-1979, 1981-1982
Joe McCarthy1931-1946
Casey Stengel1949-1960
Joe Torre1996-2007

Who do you rate the best? Leave your comment below.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join the Pinstripes Nation!

Your Daily Dose of Yankees Magic Delivered to Your Inbox

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Don't Miss Any of the Latest Yankees News, Rumors, and Exclusive Offers!