Good news for Aaron Judge as slugger looks for a record new contract

Aaron Judge
John Allen
Thursday November 10, 2022

Table of Contents

As a free agent, Aaron Judge expects to sign a record-breaking deal. He has a historic 2022 season and this has created a market buzz around him enticing the riches MLB clubs to pursue him. While there is much speculation over his possible contract size, it is set to grow ever after the power hitter is getting one after another award this off-season.

The free agent added another silverware on Wednesday to his collection of trophies before he gets his paycheck. Aaron Judge won the 2022 Hank Aaron Award for being the best offensive player in the American League.

Aaron Judge is going to become the MLB Silver Slugger for the third time on Thursday, which is also the first day that free agents can sign with other teams. He will almost certainly win American League MVP next week.

Aaron Judge is the first Yankee to win the Hank Aaron Award since 2009 when Derek Jeter won it for the second time. In 2006, Jeter had his first. Alex Rodriguez was the only other Yankees winner in 2007.

There were eight finalists, including Aaron Judge, Yordan Alvarez of the Astros, Jose Altuve of the Astros, Rafael Devers of the Red Sox, Julio Rodriguez of the Mariners, Shohei Ohtani of the Angels, Jose Ramrez of the Guardians, and Mike Trout of the Angels.

Paul Goldschmidt, who plays first base for the St. Louis Cardinals, was the National League winner of the award.

Aaron Judge had a historic season in 2022, setting a new AL record with 62 home runs and leading the league in RBI (131), runs (133), on-base percentage (.425), slugging percentage (.686), and OPS (1.111).

In the year 1999, the Hank Aaron Award was established. It was named after Hank Aaron, a slugger who is in the Baseball Hall of Fame and held the record for most home runs hit until it was broken by Barry Bonds in 2007. Aaron died in 2021 at age 86. He played with the Braves for 21 seasons and two seasons with the Brewers.

Winners were determined by a combination of fan votes and the votes of a panel consisting of eight members of the Baseball Hall of Fame, namely Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Eddie Murray, John Smoltz, and Robin Yount.

“It’s an honor getting voted for this award,” Judge told to the MLB Network, “All of the Hall of Famers and fans that voted, this is definitely incredible honor. Getting a chance to honor Hank and be apart of the wonderful list of guys that won this award, it’s something special.”

Hank Aaron Award winners year-by-year

2000Carlos DelgadoBlue JaysTodd HeltonRockies
2001Alex RodriguezRangersBarry BondsGiants
2002Alex RodriguezRangersBarry BondsGiants
2003Alex RodriguezRangersAlbert PujolsCardinals
2004Manny RamirezRed SoxBarry BondsGiants
2005David OrtizRed SoxAndruw JonesBraves
2006Derek JeterYankeesRyan HowardPhillies
2007Alex RodriguezYankeesPrince FielderBrewers
2008Kevin YoukilisRed SoxAramis RamirezCubs
2009Derek JeterYankeesAlbert PujolsCardinals
2010Jose BautistaBlue JaysJoey VottoReds
2011Jose BautistaBlue JaysMatt KempDodgers
2012Miguel CabreraTigersBuster PoseyGiants
2013Miguel CabreraTigersPaul GoldschmidtDiamondbacks
2014Mike TroutAngelsGiancarlo StantonMarlins
2015Josh DonaldsonBlue JaysBryce HarperNationals
2016David OrtizRed SoxKris BryantCubs
2017Jose AltuveAstrosGiancarlo StantonMarlins
2018J.D. MartinezRed SoxChristian YelichBrewers
2019Mike TroutAngelsChristian YelichBrewers
2020Jose AltuveWhite SoxFreddie FreemanBraves
2021Vladimir Guerrero Jr.Blue JaysBryce HarperPhillies
2022Aaron JudgeYankeesPaul GoldschmidtCardinals

What more awards do you expect Aaron Judge to win?

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join the Pinstripes Nation!

Your Daily Dose of Yankees Magic Delivered to Your Inbox

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Don't Miss Any of the Latest Yankees News, Rumors, and Exclusive Offers!